The Licensing Executive Society (LES) offers prestigious awards to deserving LES members and organizations that have made significant contributions to licensing and innovation.

LES Licensing Achievement Award

The Licensing Achievement Award is the most prestigious form of recognition that an organization can receive from LES. The award was established to acknowledge those organizations that have made an outstanding contribution to licensing or other technology transfer activity.
Read more…

LES Deals of Distinction Award

The LES Deals of Distinction Award is an annual industry sector award program. Each of the LES (U.S.A. & Canada) industry sector committees has the opportunity to nominate companies that have completed the most deserving deal from within their field in the past year.

Read more…

Frank Barnes Mentor Award

The Frank Barnes Award was established in 2000 by a group of LES members to memorialize Frank Barnes’ vast contributions to the field of licensing through mentorship. Each year at the LES Annual Meeting, the Frank Barnes Award is presented to an LES member who has dedicated considerable time and energy to mentoring fellow licensing professionals.

A full list of previous honorees and additional information can be found here.

LES President’s Exemplary Service Award

LES President’s Exemplary Service Award. This award was established in 2018 and is the highest honor that LES can give to a member of the intellectual capital management (ICM) community. This award honors an LES volunteer who has made an outstanding contribution to the health, vibrancy, and well-being of the Society. The President’s Award is periodically given to recognize exceptional licensing activities.

  • 2018: Jim McCarthy
  • 2021: BioNTech and Pfizer
  • 2022 Honorable Judge Paul Michel, Judge formerly US Court of Appeals for the Federal Court
  • 2023: Jack Lu