LESI | Print Page | Sign In | Join
Frank Barnes Award
Share |

Frank Barnes Mentor Award

The Frank Barnes Award was established in 2000 by a group of LES members to memorialize Frank Barnes' vast contributions to the field of licensing through mentorship.

Each year at the LES (USA & Canada) Annual meeting an award is presented to an LES member, who like Mr. Barnes, has dedicated considerable time and energy to mentoring fellow licensing professionals. Sponsored by the LES Foundation, the award honors Frank Barnes, Corporate Vice President for Abbott Laboratories, who passed away in June 2000 after a long fight with cancer. Frank’s contributions to Abbott through his in-licensing prowess are legendary, earning the company billions of dollars annually.

Aside from his financial impact for Abbott, Frank was known throughout the pharmaceutical industry as one of the ‘Deans of Pharma Licensing’. An early supporter of LES (USA & Canada), Frank mentored dozens of licensing executives who continue to make important contributions throughout the pharmaceutical industry. Thus, his legacy lives on.

Please submit your nomination by July 15

  • Nominations may be made by any LES member from any Sector
  • A significant part of the career of the nominee must be dedicated to the field of licensing.
  • The nominee must have mentored multiple Licensing Executives; and
  • At least two nominations are required for each individual.
  • Deadline for submissions will be July 15, 2019, and the winner will be selected by the committee by July 31, 2019.

The Award recipient will be announced at the LES Annual Meeting (Phoenix, October 20-23, 2019).

Submit your nomination today!


Past Frank Barnes Award recipients:

2018- Louise Levien
2017- Bill Mattson
2016- Ed Saltzman
2015- Larry Udell
2014- John Poulos
2013- Don Drinkwater, CLP
2012- Pam Demain
2011- Richard Razgaitis
2010- Thomas Picone, PhD
2009- Catherine Sohn
2008- Marvin Guthrie, Esq.
2007- Ted Cross
2006- Julius Vida (deceased)
2005- Louis Berneman
2004- James Foley
2003- Arlene Morris
2002- Jack Anthony
2001- Hank Weisman (deceased)






Connect with more than 500 intellectual capital management decision-makers and thought leaders around the world. Join us at the LES 2019 Annual Meeting as a sponsor to promote your company and discover new business opportunities. Learn more
11130 Sunrise Valley Drive, Suite 350 Reston, VA 20191 Phone: 703-234-4058 Fax: 703-435-4390