IP100 Advisory Board

The IP100 Executive Forum

Program development for The IP100 Executive Forum was guided by the Advisory Board, who generously provided input based on first-hand experience of what issues are of concern and relevance to the IP community. Advisory Board members include:

  • Kirk Dailey, Head of Patent Transactions, Google
  • Pete Dulcamara, Vice President, Corporate Research & Engineering, Kimberly-Clark
  • Jeff MacLauchlan, Senior Vice President, Corporate Development, Rockwell Collins
  • Michael Pierantozzi, Strategic Business Development, IP Sales & Licensing, Hewlett-Packard Company
  • Eric Schulman, Head of IP, Uber
  • Phil Strassburger, Vice President, General Counsel, Purdue Pharma

Board Bios

Kirk Dailey
Kirk DaileyKirk Dailey has more than 20 years’ experience in all facets of intellectual property, including a successful track record of licensing patents, technology and trademarks. Mr Dailey is head of patent transactions for Google, responsible for licensing, selling and purchasing patents in order to obtain freedom of action for Google.

Before joining Google in 2012, Mr Dailey was corporate vice president of intellectual property at Motorola, where he was responsible for the IP business that built, maintained and leveraged a world-class IP portfolio to provide freedom of action and revenue for the business. Mr Dailey created strategic patent portfolios that are aligned with and support business objectives.

Before running the IP business, Mr Dailey was a key patent and IP lawyer for Motorola. Working in Chicago, Boston and London, Mr Dailey developed key IP strategies and negotiated related agreements for accessing key 2G, 3G and 4G communication technologies and leveraging Motorola’s 
related portfolios.

Mr Dailey has made presentations to IP organisations such as the Intellectual Property Law Association of Chicago, the Licensing Executives Society, the Ambassador’s Intellectual Property Roundtable in China and the IP Symposium at George Washington Law School. His article “Shooting the Patent Divestiture Rapids” was published in the February/March 2008 edition of Intellectual Asset Management.

[back to top]

Pete Dulcamara
Pete Dulcamara

[back to top]

Jeff MacLauchlan
Jeff MacLauchlanJeff MacLauchlan is senior vice president, Corporate Development for Rockwell Collins. Additionally, he is an executive officer of Rockwell Collins. In this position, MacLauchlan is responsible for working with the company’s businesses in identifying and evaluating new growth initiatives, acquisitions, joint ventures and alliances. He is also responsible for overseeing Investor Relations, Enterprise Communications and the company’s Intellectual Property Management departments.

Previously, MacLauchlan served as vice president, Corporate Development for Lockheed Martin where he focused on supporting the company’s strategy through investments, technology commercialization, acquisitions and divestitures, and strategic ventures, including leading approximately 20 significant merger and acquisition deals and the formation of dozens of joint ventures. Throughout his 30-year career at Lockheed Martin Corporation and Martin Marietta, he also served as vice president, Finance and Business Operations, for the company’s Information Systems and Global Services business sector, as well as vice president, Financial Strategies, for the corporation, among other roles.

MacLauchlan earned a Bachelor of Science degree from the University Of Maryland.

[back to top]

Michael Pierantozzi
Michael PierantozziBased in Silicon Valley, Michael Pierantozzi is a technology entrepreneur and IP business strategist and transaction expert. Mr Pierantozzi runs his own consulting firm, Andiamo Associates LLC, providing innovation, IP advisory and brokerage services.

Mr Pierantozzi’s focus is on helping clients – spanning garage start-ups, funded start-ups, established companies and IP monetisers – to realise the value in their ideas, inventions and business. He has led and managed a wide range of IP transactions, worth more than $1 billion in aggregate.

Previously, Mr Pierantozzi served as managing director, IP strategy and operations at Hewlett-Packard (HP) where he helped to drive the formation and scaling of HP’s IP licensing business, two operating divisions – based on digital imaging and cloud technology invented at HP Labs – as well as the Allied Security Trust, a defensive patent aggregator. Additionally, Mr Pierantozzi held executive leadership positions at leading patent brokerage firm IPotential and global patent aggregator Intellectual Ventures and was co-founder and chief operating officer for a start-up company focused on providing transparency in IP transactions.

Mr Pierantozzi is a frequent speaker at industry events in the United States, Europe and Asia, and has delivered IP management seminars at Stanford University. He serves on the advisory board at leading legal analytics firm Lex Machina Inc and as president of the board of directors at Bay Area Cancer Connections, in honour of his family and friends facing cancer.

Mr Pierantozzi holds an MS in management, science and engineering from Stanford University, where he focused on technology entrepreneurship. He also holds a BS in mechanical engineering from Drexel University.

[back to top]

Eric Schulman
Eric SchulmanEric Schulman is head of IP at Uber.  Previously, Eric was a Legal Director at Google where at various times he led the licensing function and the ads patent team. Eric and David Hayes published the original idea for the LOT agreement and a draft LOT agreement on February 4, 2013 on the Social Science Research Network; Eric,  with the help of the LOT leadership and many others, founded the LOT Network, raised seed funding and recruited the first 12 members.  Eric joined Google in 2005.  Prior to joining Google, Eric worked as Of Counsel in the intellectual property group at Mintz Levin Cohn, Ferris, Glovsky, and Popeo and as an associate with the intellectual property group at Fenwick & West.  Eric received a B.S. in physics from MIT, a M.S in physics from B.U. and a J.D from Boston College Law School.

[back to top]

Phil Strassburger
Phil StrassburgerPhilip Strassburger has served as General Counsel since 2012. He joined Purdue in 1999 after serving as Senior Patent Counsel at Pfizer Inc, and as an Associate at the New York law firms of Hedman Gibson, and Bryan Cave LLP. Before he began his legal career, Mr. Strassburger practiced as a chemical engineer in The Netherlands.

Mr. Strassburger began his career at Purdue as Chief Patent Counsel, and was later named Vice President, Intellectual Property Counsel. At Purdue, Mr. Strassburger has worldwide responsibility for intellectual property prosecution and litigation. He has negotiated numerous acquisitions, licenses, and patent settlements throughout the world. He is also responsible for all legal affairs of Purdue, including antitrust, transactional, and regulatory legal matters in the United States.

Mr. Strassburger received his BS degree in Chemical Engineering and his BA in Philosophy from Tufts University, and a Juris Doctorate degree from the University of Connecticut. He is admitted to practice in New York and Connecticut as well as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.

[back to top]

The IP100 Executive Forum